More Pinoy Stats in Canada

Kabayan,

As promised, here are more statistics on Pinoys here in Canada. Source of data : http://o.canada.com/news/1113-filipino-canadians/ , which in turn cites Statistics Canada, Citizenship and Immigration Canada, Parliament of Canada, and news sources as its sources. Hope you find the information interesting.

How many are we Pinoys in Canada?  — There are about 500,000 Pinoys born in the Philippines but living in Canada as of May 2011. Of these, 454,340 were identified as immigrants of which 292,505 already had Canadian citizenship. The rest were “non-permanent residents”, such as students and temporary foreign workers.

How fast are we growing migration-wise?  ” In 2012, Canada admitted 32,704 Filipinos as permanent residents, an increase of 146 per cent since 2004.” It also noted that “the number of immigrants from the Philippines has increased dramatically in the recent years and since 2006 is the number one source of new immigrants to Canada, surpassing both China and India.”

It’s not surprising therefore, that “Tagalog, one of the main languages of the Philippines, was the mother tongue reported by 320,100 people in Canada in 2011, the most popular immigrant mother tongue after Chinese languages.”

Where are we Pinoys in Canada ?

Based on the numbers provided by the above source, I’ve created two graphics to show where we are. The source noted that “most people born in the Philippines live in Ontario: 218,660, and more specifically, Toronto, with 185,085.”

The cities of Vancouver (British Columbia), and Edmonton and Calgary (both in Alberta) also host the larger Pinoy communities.

There are Pinoys in all of Canada’s provinces and territories.

Pinoy Locations

Pinoy Locations PIE chart


To read my most recent blog post, as well as access links to earlier posts, click this link.

 

**** Reblogs are welcome, but do please ask for permission first. Thanks. ****

 

15 thoughts on “More Pinoy Stats in Canada

  1. Pingback: Find All The Philippine Embassy And Consulate In Canada

  2. Hi, a greeting from your kababayan.

    I’m glad to stumbled upon a fellow Filipino blogger writing to inform immigrants, newcomers, and Filipinos planning to start a new life in Canada.

    I’ve read your post and linked it through one of my blog post about the Philippine embassy and consulate in Canada. With the help of your post, I had the idea to make a connection between the number of Filipinos and government agencies of the Philippines in Canada.

    May you keep on blogging and sharing your experiences.

    Salamat!

  3. I NEED YOUR HELP PLEASE.. I WANT TO APPLY AS A SINGLE MIGRATION TO CANADA. BUT I DONT KNOW HOW TO START. I HAVE APPLIED AS A LIVE INN CAREGIVER ON 2009 IN CANADIAN EMBASSY ABUDHABI. BUT I RECIEVE A REFUSAL LETTER AFTER 15 MONTHS BECAUSE OF MY FAULT FOR SIGNING MY PAPERS… BUT STILL I WILL NOT GIVE UP BECAUSE I WANT TO WORK AND LIVE IN CANADA.

    • I’m sorry. Your situation (applying not in Manila, and having beeen refused once) is quite different from my own experience. I suggest you consult with an immigration consultant or lawyer for advice. If you cannot afford to consult, then my advice would be to try to understand what went wrong the first time and just try again.

      • my mistake was, my experienced in Singapore is just one and half month as a maid… but in my cv or resume it was one and half year. that’s why, when I gets interview in Canadian embassy of abu dhabi, how come ur experienced in sg is just 45 days, then ir ur cv is 1 and half year??? and worst happened..because the Canadian embassy of abu dhabi recquest for police clearance in singhapore.. and the singap[ore police replied.. WE ARE NOT ABLE TO GIVE HER A POLICE CLEARANCE BECAUSE SHE NEVER REACH 6 MONTHS OF STAY OR WORK HERE IN SINGAPORE. that replied has sent directly to Canadian embassy.

        But please, I still need a help from this site, if u could give me a sponsor?
        thanks and godbless.

      • I’m sorry Leah. I can only provide advice, and only on things I have experienced or have knowledge on. I have neither in your case. Good luck in your search for a way.

  4. Hi, what advice can you give to young people like me? I just graduated BS Pharmacy and I don’t know if I should take the board examination. I don’t really like my course and I’m willing to study some more abroad (e.g. Canada). Thing is, I don’t just wanna study, I wanna move as a permanent resident. I don’t plan on bringing my family with me (well at least not yet for now) (i’m single) and I think that’s easier. I am a fresh graduate so I don’t have any experience or whatsoever. I heard that moving to Canada has got a little bit harder today (my friend and her family was going to move last 2012, and they were getting ready for it, but somehow they couldn’t. ((Maybe because her father is past the desirable, employable age or something))). Can you give me an advice on what to do?
    (maybe apply for a job (like call centers) or take up technical courses). I was aiming for USA but it seems pretty difficult, and I have a brother in Australia but I don’t wanna move there either.
    Also, I don’t wanna get a student visa (if possible, or if it’s the only way then sure) because it’d be costly and I don’t have enough savings (and I don’t wanna burden my parents since I’ve got 2 siblings pursuing medicine).

    Thank you so much!

    ~Veronica

    • Hi Veronica. You are young, and I hope that you can appreciate the advice from somebody old. 🙂

      It’s good that you know that you want to migrate. I noticed that your comment was also clear on what you don’t have and what you do not want to do. This list of “don’ts” cannot help you attain your dream to migrate.

      I would suggest that you ask yourself what you DO HAVE that can help you come here, what you NEED TO HAVE to be able to come here, and what you are WILLING TO DO to bridge the gap and make your dream happen. Call this approach problem solving, or gap analysis, or focusing on the positive, or even just knowing yourself and your present realities better.

      I believe your next moves will become clearer to you once you can answer these questions.

      Good luck.

      • Hi Sir,

        Sobrang ganda po ng advise ninyo nag resonate sa puso ko at sa pangarap kong mag migrate sa Canada.

        Please note na malaking tulong po kayo sa mga Pilipinong katulad ko na nangangarap na makarating sa Canada.

        Salamat po sa oras at puso na binibigay nyo sa bawat blog na sinusulat ninyo – you are truly an inspiration.

        -Ann

  5. sir magandang araw nagtatrabaho ako dito sa abuhabi as instrumentation technician and ang wife ko naman eh sa pinas..ask ko lang san kung anu maiiadvice nyu smin kc nagpapalano kami mag move sa canada kaso nga lang hindi namin alam kung panu at saan magsisimula..at isa pa may baby kami na 4 years old kung sakali matatagap kami sa canada pwede ba namin sya agd isama tnx..

    • Joseph. Bisitahin mo ang website ng Canadian Embassy. Alamin mo muna kung anu ano ang mga parograma ang tugma sa situwasyon mo. Daanan mo ung “self-assessment” para matantiya mo kung malamang o malabo ang pagpunta mo rito. O maghanap ka ng libreng assessment ng mga immigration consultants online. Sasabihin nila sa iyo kung ano ang magandang paraan para sa iyo. Doon ka magsimula.

      Iyung tanong mo tungkol sa anak mo, depende rin iyan kung anong programa ang aaplayan mo. Mayroong puede, mayroong hindi.

  6. Pingback: More Pinoy Stats in Canada - Kabayan Forums

Leave a comment